PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] acer 5220 laptop microphone not working

bobdobbs
June 18th, 2009, 09:03 AM
Hi.
I've been using ubuntu for a couple of years now, and I haven't been able to get microphone working on my laptop.

The laptop is an acer extensa 5220.

Under windows, the mic works fine.

If I make a test call with skype, I hear no sound, no matter what I set the input device to.

Googling around, I can see that other people have gotten the mic to work successfully.

In the gnome volume control, mic boost is set to max.

If, between recording tests on gnome-sound-recorder, I go back to Colume Control and switch between capture options ('mic' and 'inbuilt mic') I get either clicking or fuzz and clicking.

How can I enable the mic ?

bobdobbs
June 19th, 2009, 08:50 AM
bump

MZBKA
June 23rd, 2009, 08:55 PM
I've been having the same problem.

MZBKA
June 23rd, 2009, 10:07 PM
Edit: My machine is a 4420 though. I've fooled around with all of the alsa mixer settings and nothing works. Even for regular audio all of the settings have to be almost maxed out to get a reasonable volume. If I max out all of the mic settings, I can hear a recording of me tapping on the mic very loudly, but that's it.

Mic works in windows, so that's not the problem.

Please help. I can't find the solution anywhere online.

MZBKA
June 24th, 2009, 02:19 PM
I've found this:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bug/269294
Towards the bottom a user named THE MIKE suggests downloading a new driver here:
ftp://ftp.alsa-project.org/pub/driver/alsa-driver-1.0.20.tar.bz2
However, I can't get this file to "make". Can anybody help?

xc3RnbFO8P
June 24th, 2009, 03:53 PM
Did you do:

sudo apt-get install build-essential

MZBKA
June 24th, 2009, 07:38 PM
Did you do:

I have now and that has not fixed the problem.

xc3RnbFO8P
June 24th, 2009, 08:28 PM
Extract (Desktop)

cd /home/your folder/Desktop/alsa-driver-1.0.20

./configure

make

sudo make install

MZBKA
June 25th, 2009, 03:37 PM