PDA

View Full Version : Hackers and Common Lisp

sam191
June 17th, 2009, 11:37 PM
Hey,

I was wondering how many of you guys use Common Lisp, or any dialect of Lisp for that matter?

I have just read the book, "Hackers and Painters" by Paul Graham, and he made some really interesting points about programming languages. What I think he said was that Lisp is the most powerful language, and that new programming languages are getting closer and closer to Lisp.

This book really got me thinking. What do hackers (not crackers) use as their tools? I have read they often choose languages like Perl/Python/Ruby and Linux as their main OS.

I have been using windows for the past 9 years (I'm still in high school) and when I was young I used to think that "windows + C++ = hacker" :D. Now, I am slowly switching over to Ubuntu. And I really like to work in Python.

What do you guys think about the book and Graham's ideas? What languages and operating systems do you like to work with and why?

CptPicard
June 17th, 2009, 11:50 PM
It is late here so this post will be shorter than it probably should be...

First of all, this is going to touch off on some long-running "intense discussions" we have had on this forum regarding high and low-level languages and their relative "power"... search for the "high vs. low-level megathread" for example.

IMO a hacker is a person who likes to understand how things work and play with things. Linux, because of its openness, is a natural good fit for your typical computer hacker.

When it comes to programming... I can certainly see the value in knowing how to work close to the hardware if need be, but personally I am much more interested in "hacking" not so much with the computer per se, but with the problems I am solving. For this kind of stuff higher-level languages can be very useful and sometimes even provide insight to what you're working with...