PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problems With Installing New Themes

andy0550
June 17th, 2009, 09:46 PM
Hey everyone,

I'm new to ubuntu, as a matter of fact, I just installed ubuntu today, since I heard it's a rather stable and efficient system. Before this, I used windows Vista, and after being infected by a virus, I finally decided to give the whole windows system up and try a linux/unix system.

Anyway, I am very fond of unique desktop themes, and I was hoping that with ubuntu (I have the jaunty version by the way), I could easily change between different skins and themes. BUT even though I tried downloading different themes from different sites (such as deviantart, gnome-look, etc.), everytime I tried installing them in the themes section, some sort of error would come forth and not allow me to do so. One of the times it actually managed to install a theme, but it never showed up in the listing of different themes. I find this rather bizare and annoying, since I was hoping that with ubuntu, unlike windows, I would be easily able to change skins and themes.

Can someone help me with this problem and help me to be able to install new themes please :) I've seen some really great themes out there, and I'm more than eager to download and try them out :)

Thanks to all!
- Andy

howefield
June 17th, 2009, 09:48 PM
Try the themes here, I like the tropical one.

http://francois.vogelweith.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&layout=blog&id=3&Itemid=14

Instructions on the page and very easy to follow.

andy0550
June 17th, 2009, 09:51 PM
Thanks for the link, but I've seen these themes and my problem is installing them, rather than finding them.

howefield
June 17th, 2009, 09:55 PM
Where do you get an error, have you successfully added the repository and updated the package manager ?

andy0550
June 17th, 2009, 10:35 PM
Yeah, I updated everything after the installation.

Ok, so this is an example of one of the problems I get: