PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] GRUB Loading Error 18, IDE Failed OPT Code Unknown

quicksilver1234
June 17th, 2009, 07:34 PM
I'm a mostly newbie, and not at the Ubuntu computer right now, I'll try to describe this from memory.
-
Yesterday, I reset my root password.
Today, I cannot get the computer to boot up.
I get "GRUB Loading... Error 18", sometimes if I waited, the errors would pass and I could log in, in recovery mode, as root and see my files.
I tried to change my password for my user account, but it said the password could not be changed "authentication token lock busy"
I read that deleting the password file in /etc/shadow? (not at computer to be exact) might allow me to reset it. But simply CDing to that directory, cause the computer to lock up and generate errors. It's like that part of the hard drive is corrupt?
What does "IDE Failed OPT Code Unknown" mean?
And then more often than not, when restart, I intermittently get "Hard drive not found, put in boot disk"

Any idea what's going on?

quicksilver1234
June 17th, 2009, 09:13 PM
I was hoping somebody would post that this happens with the "NumsLock on" or something.
That if I Turned off NumLock, everything will be fine.

LewRockwell
June 17th, 2009, 09:17 PM
http://www.linuxjournal.com/content/resetting-root-password

June 17th, 2009, 09:27 PM
I'm a mostly newbie, and not at the Ubuntu computer right now, I'll try to describe this from memory.
-
Yesterday, I reset my root password.
Today, I cannot get the computer to boot up.
I get "GRUB Loading... Error 18", sometimes if I waited, the errors would pass and I could log in, in recovery mode, as root and see my files.
I tried to change my password for my user account, but it said the password could not be changed "authentication token lock busy"