PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ubuntu/vista dual boot stuff--please help

Mirages
June 15th, 2009, 09:51 PM
hey,
I want to dual boot ubuntu/vista. I have never run a dual boot before. I am new to linux and ubuntu. I was using the wubi for a while. I did some research but I have hit that point where its a little overwhelming and I need to be the one asking the questions. I found a few guides, one of which has been quite helpful with lots of info but doesn't quite meet my needs.
http://members.iinet.net/~herman546/index.html

1)can I delete the DellUtility partiton? freeing up space for another primary partition (like the swap?)

2) at the moment I cant make swap a primary partition cause if ubuntu is going to be a primary then I have used up all 4 spots.
A)(partition newb question)if I made ubuntu an extended partition and placed the swap as a logical within that extended partition would ubuntu still dual boot properly alongside vista even though it is no longer a primary partition?
B) my computer has 2gb of memory built in. so is the swap all that necessary? I don't intend on using ubuntu for gaming except for maybe light games like World of Goo and Fallout1/2/Tactics. so maybe the swap isn't required?
C)Swap as a file: eliminates the need for the partition. I found a thread on it but I dont think I am capable of making it work...
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1042946&highlight=swapfile

3)What format should I install ubuntu as? ext3 ext4 or ntfs?
I ask because my vista partition is ntfs. I use a external hdd in fat32 so it is compatible with both. I would like to reformat the external to something that will still be compatible between the 2 operating systems. Is ntfs compatible with ext3/ext4? what are the possiblities because I don't know.

I am using a dell latitude d630 laptop with a 120gb hdd and 2gb of memory it already has 3 out of the possible 4 primary partitions.