PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Install disk won't run

Sifr
June 15th, 2009, 08:34 PM
I'm trying to install the most recent version of Ubuntu on my Macbook using the basic install-via-CD option. This is the second time I've tried; last time the disk was corrupted, this time I just get a black screen with a flashing white underscore when I boot from the disk. What can I do to make the install CD boot correctly?

I'm a complete novice in the ways of OSes, so the simplest explanation possible would be much appreciated.
Thanks.

yeats
June 15th, 2009, 08:36 PM
Hi there,

I'm assuming you did an MD5SUM (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowToMD5SUM) check of the disk image (.iso) file before burning? Did you also verify the CD integrity from the main menu of the Ubuntu disk?

Sifr
June 15th, 2009, 08:45 PM
I hadn't run the md5 check, so thanks for cluing me in on that. The hash was normal, though, so that's not the issue. As for the check from the install menu, I can't even get that far.

I set the boot disk to the burned CD, restarted, and got a blank black screen that does nothing and does not respond to the keyboard for commands.

Apparently the burned .iso is completely fine, but my computer refuses to run it from the disk.

yeats
June 15th, 2009, 11:22 PM
I hadn't run the md5 check, so thanks for cluing me in on that. The hash was normal, though, so that's not the issue. As for the check from the install menu, I can't even get that far.

I set the boot disk to the burned CD, restarted, and got a blank black screen that does nothing and does not respond to the keyboard for commands.

Apparently the burned .iso is completely fine, but my computer refuses to run it from the disk.

So do you know that this CD drive is in good working order? You could attempt to boot from USB:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation/FromUSBStick

Sifr
June 18th, 2009, 08:15 PM