PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Uninstalling & Reinstalling Ubuntu

iamonlyamachine
June 14th, 2009, 11:13 PM
Hi all,

I'm a relative newb here. I have a laptop dual-booted with Vista and Kubuntu 8.04. However, I wanted to swap out Kubuntu for Ubuntu, found some directions to do so online without having to uninstall but, unfortunately, it didn't quite work. The Kubuntu splash screen loads, and then it gets to the Ubuntu desktop (I can tell by the wallpaper) but it never finishes loading.

What I would *like* to do is this:
1. Un-install the current installation of Ubuntu 8.04
2. Install Ubuntu 9.04.

This way, I won't have to upgrade to 8.10 and I will also have my current Ubuntu mess worked out.

My only fear is that I might not be able to access Vista after I do this. However, my hope is that, since I will be reinstalling Ubuntu and, thus, the GRUB bootloader, Vista will be reloaded into the bootloader and I will be able to boot into either Vista or Ubuntu just fine.

Will this work? I have everything backed up, but I don't have a Vista disc, so I'd rather not have to go to the trouble of reinstalling Windows on top of all this.

Any advice? Things I should be aware of? Will I have to change the Windows MBR before doing this? I'd prefer to accomplish this with as little headache as possible.

Thanks!

merlinus
June 14th, 2009, 11:30 PM
If you install ubuntu into the same partition as the one you are using, then it will recognize windows and add it to the boot menu.

lisati
June 14th, 2009, 11:37 PM
Perhaps the easiest, assuming you're not using Wubi, is to tell the installer to write over the top of the existing installation. Don't forget to make backups first......

Amilo1718
June 14th, 2009, 11:40 PM
are your partitions only on a sofwtare basis?

iamonlyamachine
June 15th, 2009, 03:28 AM