PDA

View Full Version : I just realised why Ubuntu is the best!!

ade234uk
June 14th, 2009, 03:30 PM
Over here at my girlfriends. Using Windows XP and tried opening a.pdf file from a website, which opens inside Firefox.

Browser totally crashed trying to load .pdf, unable to close browser, no response.

Clicked X 20 times to try and close Window. Still not closing.

Hard Disk thrashing away. And after some time.....

Now 20 windows have opened asking if I want to end the programme. YES YES YES YES YES and so on.....

Icons dissapeared from Desktop for about 20 secs.

Now they have appeared again, and now Windows says it has recovered from a serious error lol.

Suddenly:-
HP wants me to update the software.
Adobe wants access to my machine, so it can update to the latest version of Acrobat.
Now AVG is out of date and needs updating.

=============
Now I have been using Ubuntu for 7 months, and everytime I open a .pdf inside Firefox it loads first time, everytime, and I get none of these stupid update my software notifications.

This is why I love Ubuntu!!

Screwdriver0815
June 14th, 2009, 04:02 PM
yes, its the absence of user-annoyance which makes Linux superior.

But I am sure, there will be some Windows fanboys appear in your thread soon who explain why all this, what you experienced is right and okay and that it is all your fault ;) :D

PuddingKnife
June 14th, 2009, 04:18 PM
I didnt realize there were Windows fanboys in this forum .. ?

I just thought some folks were tired of the childish "M$" and "Winblows" etc comments that make US look like .. well, childish Linux fanboys.

Ehh .. to each their own.

I love Ubuntu.

Sand & Mercury
June 14th, 2009, 04:43 PM

But I am sure, there will be some Windows fanboys appear in your thread soon who explain why all this, what you experienced is right and okay and that it is all your fault ;) :D