PDA

View Full Version : Make XP dual-boot with UNR

sukelis
June 14th, 2009, 03:56 AM
First, I apologize because I expect this has been answered - but I can't find it. I've done some looking but this is such an active forum that finding what you want depends on being able to search for it and I haven't come up with the right search terms.

I have an Acer Aspire One netbook, which runs XP Home. I would like to make it dual-boot with UNR. I have never tried Ubuntu before, and have only limited experience with Linux, but have used Unix in a previous life. I have lots of experience with desktops, but this is my first foray into laptops/netbooks.

My first issue is the partitioning, naturally. I have already shrunk my XP partition and freed up half the (160GB) disk. But this netbook comes with a 6GB recovery partition (hidden) as the 1st partition and then windows as the 2nd. So, by default, Ubuntu will wind up in the inside, slow part of the disk.

I have burned the recovery images to DVD, so I could delete the recovery partition, but 6GB doesn't seem like enough space. And I think trying to have Linux partitions before and after the Windows partition is... not wise. So, I'm thinking about moving the XP partition to the end of the disk and then deleting the recovery partition and creating an extended partition using all of the available disk space. Since Windows insists on naming the first Primary partition as C, and naming extended/logical partitions after primary partitions, the installed XP should still find itself on C and be happy.

I will probably need to re-create the MBR and boot files, depending on what I find when I unhide the partition. But if I get that all sorted out and working before I start with UNR, then it should be all right, yes? So, my first questions are: Has anybody tried this before? Is there any problem with deleting the recovery partition (after burning the discs)?

Thanks,

suke

June 14th, 2009, 04:10 AM