PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Is it possible to make an .iso from a folders contents?

StarWarsSDI
June 14th, 2009, 12:24 AM
Hello i'm fairly new to linux but having fun learning new horizons I have downloaded Rosetta Stone software which runs on windows. I have wine up and running but im having problems creating a .iso from a folder. the files are for the software.

these are the instructions:

Instructions: Download everything included, unzip, and put everything in the same folder. Then burn that folder's contents (but not the folder itself) to 1 DVD. Install RosettaStone from the Application folder and then run program. (DVD is needed to run, unless you make and mount an ISO image. See: Extras/ISO Tools/Readme.txt)

Also note, I had to create an ISO file (with Magic ISO) before burning since Nero 7.0 choked when trying to cache all of the folders.

i have mounted the folder that I need to turn into an .iso but I can't find out how to do it. :( I know how to convert a .avi and .mpeg4 files to .iso but how do you convert a folder to a .iso the instruction say he used Magic ISO but that isn't avaliable for linux is there another program that I can use, I already have K3b, brasero, devede, and dvd disaster none of those programs complete this task. Any help would be greatly appreciative Thanks..... :D

ad_267
June 14th, 2009, 12:26 AM
Umm Brasero can do this easily. Just add all the folder contents to a data dvd project, click on burn, and write to an image file.

StarWarsSDI
June 14th, 2009, 12:39 AM
Umm Brasero can do this easily. Just add all the folder contents to a data dvd project, click on burn, and write to an image file.

I need to make it into a .iso file before I burn it though the file is 4.4 gb and it will stop like halfway through is there a program i can use that's equivalent to Windows Magic ISO, or Power ISO

ad_267
June 14th, 2009, 01:07 AM