PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dumb Question - Does 9.0.4 Desktop Support RAID?

SedaliaSteve
June 13th, 2009, 06:11 AM
I'm rather new to Ubuntu and haven't seen this answered. I'm setting up a computer right now that has two drives meant to be a RAID 1. I looked up how to set it up and there was discussion of how to choose RAID during manual configuration of the disks.

I just installed the 9.0.4 desktop and it gave me no options for RAID. I'm noticing the ubuntu.com mentions of RAID are on the server side. I really want the desktop. I just want to use a RAID to have some easy way to recover from a hard disk failure. Did I miss something?

If I burn all my music onto this box, I'd sure hate to have to do it again.

Steve

iponeverything
June 13th, 2009, 07:24 AM
I'm rather new to Ubuntu and haven't seen this answered. I'm setting up a computer right now that has two drives meant to be a RAID 1. I looked up how to set it up and there was discussion of how to choose RAID during manual configuration of the disks.

I just installed the 9.0.4 desktop and it gave me no options for RAID. I'm noticing the ubuntu.com mentions of RAID are on the server side. I really want the desktop. I just want to use a RAID to have some easy way to recover from a hard disk failure. Did I miss something?

If I burn all my music onto this box, I'd sure hate to have to do it again.

Steve

I am not sure if this is the right route for you, but I think alternate install CD will provide the options.

jerrrys
June 13th, 2009, 08:15 AM
alternate install cd will work with raid, but you should consider a backup system. raid 1 will give you backup only if hdd fails. if you lose a hdd to software failure, you lose both drives...

iponeverything
June 13th, 2009, 09:05 AM
NILFS sounds pretty cool.

moe19790
June 13th, 2009, 03:23 PM