PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Nothing working mp3 xvid

gauravwaghmare
June 12th, 2009, 05:15 AM
Hello!
I am new to ubuntu and after iiinstallling it on my PC I found that mp3 and Xvid files are not working+ the file manager//browser report a problem are not working. The 'Places' menu is completely not workin. Please help so that I can wipe out xp from my computer. Thanking you.

andrea000
June 12th, 2009, 06:00 AM
first things first check to see that

gstreamer0.10-pitfdll
gstreamer0.10-plugins-bad-multiverse
gstreamer0.10-plugins-ugly-multiverse
are installed in synaptic
systems->administration->synaptic package manager

gauravwaghmare
June 13th, 2009, 11:15 AM
first things first check to see that

gstreamer0.10-pitfdll
gstreamer0.10-plugins-bad-multiverse
gstreamer0.10-plugins-ugly-multiverse
are installed in synaptic
systems->administration->synaptic package manager

I checked it and they are not their what should I do next? Please Reply. I am using Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope.

TrakerJon
June 14th, 2009, 11:40 PM
Start by going to System > select Administration > select Software Sources > Check the first four boxes under the Ubuntu Software and Updates tabs > Close and Reload

I suggest getting all available Ubuntu updates at this point, look for the update notification icon on the task bar. Reboot after updating your system and then install as many of the following as you wish.

Many of these installations require access to the Medibuntu Repository and enabling some additional software sources. Directions are on this site: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Medibuntu or if you have Ubuntu 9.04 "Jaunty Jackalope" simply do the following from a terminal window:

sudo wget http://www.medibuntu.org/sources.list.d/jaunty.list --output-document=/etc/apt/sources.list.d/medibuntu.list

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install medibuntu-keyring && sudo apt-get update

Several codecs and plug-ins are needed for playing a variety multimedia formats correctly...