PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] partitioning corrupted windows image?

jrox717
June 11th, 2009, 11:01 PM
so. I am coming to the ubuntu forums because I trust you guys and I am in way over my head. I've been running ubuntu for a couple of months on my laptop and I finally convinced my family to let me install it (dual booting with xp) on the family computer (dell dimension 4800). great!
first, booting to cd. I have an 8.10 live cd and also a copy on a bootable flash drive (both work). however, the computer won't boot from a flash drive, so I'm stuck with the cd. there are two cd drives, but apparently the bios will only boot from the top one and not the bottom one; HOWEVER, the top drive is broken and the computer doesn't recognize when there's a cd in the tray.
well, I booted up the live cd in windows and selected "help boot from cd," which I *think* creates a cd image on the computer that it can boot from... I booted into the live cd and everything was great-- fast and lovely.
I opened up the installer, and when I got to the part about partitioning I select guided partitioning, giving ubuntu 10% of the 60 gig disk. but the process failed for some reason (I'm sorry, I forgot to write down the error message). So, I tried to do manual partitioning using gparted, but it wouldn't let me resize the windows partition, saying that the minimum size was the size it was at the time (something around 57 gigs).
I've heard good things about partition magic so I booted back into windows and downloaded it from http://www.soft32.com/download_151.html. being dumb I didn't realize that it was only a demo version (so theoretically it shouldn't do anything). I was in the middle of installing it (coincidence? virus?) when windows shut down and gave me a scary looking black screen, saying it was dumping the image (? I don't remember, sorry) and when it was done the computer shut off.