PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need help installing software!

chazzaaa
June 10th, 2009, 04:57 PM
I am completely new to linux and have found it extremely simple to use, except for the installation of packages, as well as p2p software i have tried to download.
Every time i try to install a package from synaptic package manager, there is an error at the last stage.
Along with this, i have tried to download p2p software which is supposed to be compatible with linux, and then have not been able to open it as the system does not have the application to open the software.
is there any way around this? i feel like my netbook has been a complete waste of money. the model is Dell inspiron mini 10.
Please help if you can

coffeecat
June 10th, 2009, 05:16 PM
Actually, installing software in Ubuntu is far, far simpler than in Windows, so it sounds as though something has gone wrong.

as well as p2p software i have tried to download.

Until you are more experienced, try not to download software from websites. That way lies a vale of tears. You need to fix whatever's gone wrong with Synaptic.

Every time i try to install a package from synaptic package manager, there is an error at the last stage.

Post the exact error message and we'll help you fix it. Synaptic is usually very reliable.

Also try Applications > Add/Remove. This is quite different from the same-named abomination in Windows, and very newcomer friendly. But it might not work until you've got Synaptic fixed, as it uses the same underlying engine.

Along with this, i have tried to download p2p software which is supposed to be compatible with linux, and then have not been able to open it as the system does not have the application to open the software.

You've downloaded the wrong package. If you download a .deb package, all you have to do is to double-click on it. But see what I said above. Let's get Synaptic up and running first.

zvacet
June 10th, 2009, 06:04 PM