PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unable To Install Ubuntu 8.04.1 LTS Desktop Ed. On My Computer. Need Your Help!

montecarlo87
June 10th, 2009, 06:17 AM
Hello. First, I am new to Ubuntu. I am unable to install Ubuntu 8.04.1 LTS Desktop Edition from CD-ROM on my computer. I am a heavy Windows user and very familiar with installation processes with Windows XP & Vista. I have the Ubuntu 8.04.1 LTS Desktop Edition CD-ROM. I am installing this on a custom made computer. I have the ASUS P5Q (base model motherboard of the numerous P5Q speciality boards they offer) with 4GB RAM. The processor is the Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9550 2.83 GHz. I am installing this version of Ubuntu on a 80 GB hard drive Barracuda 7200.10 SATA. I am using the Nvidia GeForce 9600 GT graphics card. There are no partitions on this hard drive, since this drive is small in size, so the whole hard drive is a system drive. I am not sharing booting processes between Windows and Linux and not between the 2 Windows operating systems. All operating systems on my computer are on separate hard drives. I access all my operating systems through the BIOS at startup by selecting the primary bootup hard drive that has corresponding system installed on it.