PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing "Stalls" on Dell Optiplex gx520

WJerauld
June 9th, 2009, 10:08 PM
Hello all ubuntu users!

I am fairly new to ubuntu but I have to say I have used it for a couple months now.
I realized that I did not want Windows XP because it was too annoying trying to get a cracked copy, blah blah blah. So I wiped my hard drive (Nothing special AT ALL on it) and tried to install ubuntu on it. When the computer starts up, I press f12, and that takes me to the boot menu. I press "Boot from CD-ROM drive" and everythings working fine, it boots up to the menu were I first choose my language. I have a Dell OptiPlex Gx520, with 512mb of ram, and a 70gb hard drive. I think it's a 3mhz processor, so theres no reason this problem should be happening. PROBLEM: I press "Install Ubuntu" and I wait. Keep on waiting. Ive waited for 30 minutes. NOTHING. It just keeps me at the menu. Nothings happening. I have tried this with 3 different Ubuntu 9.04 disks. I dont get it. I am VERY frustrated because I dont understand this. Could it be a bad burn? Im not sure, but I did try it with 3 different disks.

Thank you SO MUCH for all your help,
Will Jerauld

Partyboi2
June 11th, 2009, 06:40 AM
Hi, have you checked the cd for defects? It is one of the options at the main menu. Another thing you could try is the alternate cd (http://noncdn.releases.ubuntu.com/jaunty/).
It seemed to work for this (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=989449) person.

WJerauld
June 12th, 2009, 02:33 AM
Hey man! thanks for responding by the way. Ok, about your, "Check the disk for defects" thing, each time I choose ONE option at the menu, it freezes, nothing happens. so therefore, I cannot check the disk for defects. that was one thing that I wanted to do though. I guess I check out that alternate cd thing. Thanks man, I'll try it out and get back to you

presence1960
June 12th, 2009, 03:01 AM