PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Don't boot after installing Nvidia Drivers

sakisds
June 9th, 2009, 02:08 PM
First of all, sorry if i posted this in a wrong section. Secondly I am new at Linux and i just installed Ubuntu to test them and i can tell i like them a lot.
But i have a problem.

When i tried to enable visual effects it asked me to install the proper drivers. The installation finished normally and i was asked to restart my computer. After the Ubuntu loading screen a black screen appeared and halted after "Checking Battery State...[OK]". I waited a bit but nothing happened. Alt+F4 and Ctrl+Alt+Del was working and i shutdown my system. Because i didn't find a solution i re-installed Ubuntu. Same problem. After reinstalling I don't install any drivers this time to avoid tis again.

Here is some info, because i am new i don't known what you would need, please ask me for more info.

64 bit running alongside with Windows Vista Ultimate
Ive installed all updates
I used version 180(of drivers)
I have two 8600 SLI
Running Ubuntu 9.04

Thanks a lot
sakisds

sakisds
June 9th, 2009, 05:18 PM
Sorry for the double-post.
I just tried installing every version of the drivers. Same results. Please can anyone help me?
sakisds

chubbleton
June 10th, 2009, 03:47 AM
Hey,

I'm not going to be a whole lot of help myself, but I am having the exact same problem.

I used ubuntu about a year ago, and had this problem then - it has to do with ubuntu not knowing which is the 'primary' graphics card, or something along those lines. So you have to manually edit your xorg.conf file to include a couple lines specifying the physical location of master card, and that you want them to run in SLI.

Anyhow, I was searching for exactly what needs to be done, and I found your post, so I thought id say hi.

I'll repost here when I find the correct info.

sakisds
June 10th, 2009, 08:50 AM
Thanks for answering. If you find the exact solution please tell me where is that conf file. I have no idea.