PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu install problem on laptop

hurbie
June 8th, 2009, 08:05 PM
Hi everyone!

I'm not good at computers so bear with me please. I don't have a complete description of the machine I have at hand but it is a Sony Vaio PCGFR25 which is a little bit old. The total memory is 448 MB, it has pentium 4, a cd-dvd rom and I can boot from the cd. I had multiple problems with windows, especially with the blue screen telling me that there is a physical dump. Windows no longer worked since then (even during repair or re-install that blue screen will pop up). I got ubuntu 9.04 live cd and I'm trying to make it work.

The problem is that when I'm choosing the option "try ubuntu without any change to your computer", I get multiple problems and it doesn't want to work. I can't install ubuntu too. I've been successful loading the "try ubuntu without any change..." only once (and it looks way better than windows!). But since then I haven't been able to make it work.

The problem is that when I choose option "try ubuntu..." I get those messages :
segmentation fault (core dumped)
/etc/unit.d/rc: 390: /etc/rc2.d/S86anacron: not found

If I select option like "nolapic", "acpi=off", "noapic", "edd=on" and the option "safe graphics mode", I get messages that say:
SQUASHFS error: unable to read page: block 3bd383; size 69a0 (the numbers vary as there 're plenty of error massages, pages and pages of them)
SQUASHFS error: unable to read fragment cache block 0xa62
['number'.'number'] BufferI/O error on device sr0, logical block 'number' ( 'number' designates some number)
BufferI/O error on device loop0, logical block # (# designates some number)

I should note that I get PLENTY of SQUASHFS errors (what do they mean?).

However when it start it loads some things (loading kernel modules [OK], starting kernel log daemon [OK], starting system log daemon [OK] etc..)

In the end I get
['number'.'number'] Code: bad EIP value.