PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Noob here can't install Emacs when using Sudo a-g install...

Noobuntu5
June 8th, 2009, 07:08 PM
I can get into VI no problem but trying to sudo apt-get install emacs22 I get a couldn't find package???

I did the Wubi install on my Vista Home. I see the etc/emacs folder, but im stumped. any help appreciated.

I just prefer the emacs to vi.

unutbu
June 8th, 2009, 07:15 PM
Open a terminal (Applications>Accessories>Terminal) and type

dpkg --get-selections | grep emacs

This will show all the emacs-related packages that you currently have installed.

Then run

sudo apt-get install emacs22
and show us the error message.

Please also indicate what version of Ubuntu you are using (e.g. Jaunty?)

Once we know what you have installed, we'll know better what's needed to get emacs working for you.

Could I also make a suggestion? You might want to install emacs-snapshot instead of emacs.
emacs-snapshot (which is also in the official repos) allows you to use ttf fonts instead of the chunkier fonts available under emacs.

Noobuntu5
June 8th, 2009, 07:20 PM
angel@ubuntu:~$ dpkg --get-selections | grep emacs
angel@ubuntu:~$ sudo apt-get install emacs22
[sudo] password for angel:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Couldn't find package emacs22
angel@ubuntu:~$

Using Jaunty thank you

Noobuntu5
June 8th, 2009, 07:24 PM
Same thing happens with snapshot

Would love to try emacs-snapshots...

unutbu
June 8th, 2009, 07:42 PM
Click System>Admin>Software Sources. Under the first tab, entitled "Ubuntu Software",
make sure you have the "Community-maintained Open Source software (universe)" checkbox enabled. While you are there, you might as well also enable any other repos you are interested in.

Close the window. Your package database should automatically be updated, but just to make sure, in the terminal, type

sudo apt-get update

This will definitely refresh the package database on your machine.