PDA

View Full Version : Getting started with OpenGL in Ubuntu for a Windows user

megalomaniac
January 16th, 2006, 04:32 PM
Hi,
I'm really new to Ubuntu and Linux in general so I hope these questions aren't too silly; I'm just trying it out at the moment. I really don't like the directions M$ seems to be heading with Vista so figured it was time to look for an alternative and I must admit Ubuntu is pretty good so far. Anyway; I've been programming in OpenGL and DirectX (in C/C++) on M$ Windows for a long time and want to get into OpenGL programming in Ubuntu however there seems to be a lot of confusing information out there and I'm struggling to get my head round it. So here come the questions:

1. As mentioned I've been coding in windows for a while now and so have rather a lot of OpenGL code written for windows, how would I go about converting this to run in Linux? Is it simply a case of stripping out the windows stuff (message handling, window setup etc.) and replacing it with a Linux equivalent?

2. As far as starting something new goes I notice everyone seems to use things like GLUT and SDL, why is this? In windows I always did everything myself, all the windowsy stuff all the OGL stuff everything. Is this possible under Linux (and if so how difficult is it compared to windows) or do you have to use something like SDL?

3. Everyone seems to have a different opinion about what IDE is best, but what would be easiest to get into for a long time Visual Studio user such as myself? Or would you recommend going through the effort of getting into something a bit different?

4.What sort of setting up is required to be able to compile and run OpenGL under Ubuntu?

5. I've done a lot of shader (GLSL) work in windows; would this compile and run ok on my NVIDIA GF6800 under Linux? If so is any special setup required?

Thanks in advance

mdh
January 17th, 2006, 05:40 AM
Hi,

4.What sort of setting up is required to be able to compile and run OpenGL under Ubuntu?