PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] install adobe shockwave player

Ubuter
June 8th, 2009, 06:12 PM
Is there any whay that I could install adobe shockwave player? I need t to play a game. If you need a link I will happily supply.

s3MA00RRNY
June 8th, 2009, 09:13 PM
I have no firsthand experience, but one lady at my computer group was telling me that Shockwave is not available for Linux. You could try installing it under Wine, but I'm not sure if that would work.

Ubuter
June 8th, 2009, 10:16 PM
I have no firsthand experience, but one lady at my computer group was telling me that Shockwave is not available for Linux. You could try installing it under Wine, but I'm not sure if that would work.
I could try that... but idk...

Hund
June 8th, 2009, 11:17 PM
You can install the Windows version of Firefox and Shockwave in Wine. That should work. :)

Ubuter
June 9th, 2009, 01:11 AM
You can install the Windows version of Firefox and Shockwave in Wine. That should work. :)
i'll try than tell you latr if it workz

Ubuter
June 9th, 2009, 01:24 AM
well when I open up firefox up in wine, it dows not seem to load, when I tried to use ubuntu firefox at the same time, internet seemed to be down. went back to windows firefox. clicked stop loading. went back to ubuntu firefox, and things semmed to be back to normal. so I conclude that Windows Firefox in Wine does not work. Just for the record it was firefox version 3.5 beta 4.

Hund
June 9th, 2009, 01:33 AM
I just installed the latest stable version of Firefox in Wine and Shockwave. Firefox runs just fine for me.

Ubuter
June 9th, 2009, 05:01 AM
I guess I'll try again...

Ubuter
June 9th, 2009, 05:03 AM
well firefox is working... installed shockwave, now gunna try a game..

jurusu
January 30th, 2010, 04:31 AM
Are there any other ways of installing shockwave without using wine?

jwflammer
March 29th, 2010, 03:53 AM