PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu Dual Boot System Issues

vengefulnight
June 8th, 2009, 04:45 PM
I have recently formatted my test pc with Windows 7 and Ubuntu dual boot. During the installation process, I did not add more HDD space to the Ubuntu section of the OS partition. Unfortunately, now, I am not able to sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop due to its 700+ MB space requirement. Also, when the screen saver kicks over while logged into Ubuntu, the computer will black screen and be non-responsive; thus, a reboot is needed to restore operationalization. Could the partitioning size of the OS be the reason why it appears to "crash?"

L.J
June 8th, 2009, 04:51 PM
Hey, im new to linux so don't take any notice of my idea if its wrong :lol: but why not get a whole new hard drive just for linux ? Its not that much hassle and might be an easier and quicker solution to your problem. You are able to get some really cheap nowadays, try amazon.com/.co.uk.

just a thought...

vengefulnight
June 8th, 2009, 04:58 PM
Getting a new HDD would be the smartest option but right now I have to deal with the one I have. Is there a way to add more partition space after the OS is already installed? I know this would alleviate one out of two of the problems in which I am having. Right now, Windows 7 is only in the RC phase. When Windows 7 actually releases, I think I will be running a straight Ubuntu box instead of the dual boot.

torgrot
June 8th, 2009, 05:01 PM
Hey, im new to linux so don't take any notice of my idea if its wrong :lol: but why not get a whole new hard drive just for linux ? Its not that much hassle and might be an easier and quicker solution to your problem. You are able to get some really cheap nowadays, try amazon.com/.co.uk.

just a thought...