PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cannot get Ubuntu (any release) to install.

Engleman07
June 8th, 2009, 03:55 AM
Hi, I am rather new to ubuntu and linux in general. I have successfully installed the 32-bit version on my laptop and currently using it. But, when it comes to installing the 64-bit version on my desktop, which I built, it fails to install everytime. I am using an AMD Anthlon X2 processor so that is fine and graphics card is more than capable and im using a IDE hard drive. it seems that every time i download a new .iso image it has 1 error. I downloaded the 8.10 release last night and it comes it with no errors but when i go to install it doesnt get past the first screen. I do not even get the screen to choose my language. Does anyone have any help for me? I have probably downloaded and burnt next to 15 iso's and none work. not even my 32-bit version works. This is beyond aggravating. Thanks for any advise folks!

mgt_90
June 8th, 2009, 04:20 AM
When you boot from the CD, choose the option to verify the installation media. That way we can know whether or not the installation disc is at fault or not.

merlinus
June 8th, 2009, 06:25 AM
Did you burn the .iso as a disk image at a slow speed (4x or less)?

Engleman07
June 8th, 2009, 10:56 AM
Only for the 9.04 release do I get an error when running the test. The same happens to Xubuntu 9.04 release. However, when I run the 8.10 release it doesn't say there is an error during the test. It does though when installing before it didn't but now it says input/output error on a black command screen.

And, yes I burnt it as an image at 4x using InfraRecorder.

Kevbert
June 8th, 2009, 11:02 AM
Have you performed a memtest86+ check via the CD boot menu ? It may be that you have some badly seated memory (Windows may still work, but crash occasionally). You need to run this for a minimum of two full passes.

wpshooter
June 8th, 2009, 02:46 PM