PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu_studio] I installed Ubuntu and now my Computer won't turn on! (It's okay now)

trulan
June 7th, 2009, 11:09 PM
While I am not new to computers, I am an absolute beginner in all things Linux. I installed Ubuntu Studio 9.04 three days ago. I have had quite the adventure, and thought some of you might enjoy reading about it.

I had a spare 100gb hard drive, so I put Ubuntu on that and left my Windows XP drive untouched. Other than messing up on the software packages I wanted to install (I hit enter when I should have hit the spacebar - grrr...) the installation was easy and painless.

My screen was flickering and the resolution was horrible, but I had Ubuntu up and running!! Sound worked out of the box, and getting on the internet again took me less than five minutes. The screen resolution and flickering was another story though. I have since learned that most of the advice on this topic is a bit out of date and does not quite apply to Ubuntu 9.04. More on that later.

Let's just say that I succeeded in editing xorg.conf just enough to hose my graphics support. Not exactly what a beginner wants to do.

I booted into Windows to scour the forums for a solution. Got some ideas, booted back into Ubuntu to try them. Nothing worked, but I did accidentally discover that I could hit the up arrow and cycle back through the commands I had entered, even those done before my last reboot when I had messed everything up in the first place. I found an earlier command that looked good and ran it. Then, unsure how to just restart from the command prompt, I turned my computer off.

That was the last thing it did.

No amount of button pressing, holding, cord pulling, computer disassembling, cable re-setting, had any affect at all. My computer was dead. The only response I could get at all was a flashing green light on the back of my power supply, accompanied by a light ticking sound.