PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Beginner's Ubuntu programming/source compiling guide? & various minor questions

nunu_ubu
June 7th, 2009, 07:28 PM
Anyone have some recommendations for a beginners/basic level programming/source compiling guide? Preferbly free, as I'm broke. I'm very new to Ubuntu, ex Windows XP user - pardon me if my lingo is off. I'm using a Dell Mini 10, with Ubuntu 8.04. I have read the warning about malicious argument lines, and have read up to Ch 7 of the beginner's guide in the sticky.

My specific problem is, when I'm looking for programs I usually find options such as sources or binary - and the last time I did anything with that was 10 years ago on an old Mac making math games using if-then statements.

So... I download the Hydrogen drum maching sources, extract the files, look thru them for some kind of installation auto exec file or even a guide. All I find is a guide with command arguments I don't recoginize and try simply copying and pasting into the terminal, and all I get are error messages in return.

All I'm looking for are the basics - the essentials. I don't want to know how to program my own drum machine from scratch, but I would like to know what arguments mean what, and know how to execute lines so the sources will be installed and I can use programs that exist outside of what the "Add/Remove Apps" tool allows.

Other minor questions -

There is no Undo command anywhere! Arg! The touchpad on my Mini 10 is overly sensitive, and it has a tendency of thinking I want to click when really I just want to move the cursor. I accidently put a file in the trash because of this and couldn't find it (my can was still saying it was empty until I actually opened it). Kept looking for an Undo last action, but it wasn't anyplace I'm aware of. Is there one hidden somewhere? Anyone have a way of adding one to the OS?

Reviews or thoughts (or links to those) on Ubuntu Studio for use as a music making OS?