PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Recover my system + repair to get GUI

Naif.1
June 7th, 2009, 04:53 AM
I am having a problem with my Ubuntu system, I am new to ubuntu so please be clear when you answer me :)

My ubuntu was working great. But I was trying to uninstall some of the programs and components to make my ubuntu run faster.. the problem is when I finished uninstalling some programs and restarted my computer.

My ubuntu do boot and it keep booting until it get to the brown background(before asking user-name and password), and then it stop!

Now, I have my files on the ubuntu desktop and I want to repair the system. I am wondering if there is a way to repair and recover my ubuntu.. I have been searching the last two days but couldn't get a clear answer or solution's!!

Edit: I have Ubuntu 9.04 >

Mark Phelps
June 7th, 2009, 05:06 AM
What you can try (it may work) is that when you get the GRUB menu, select the recovery option instead of the default one. That might work.

If it doesn't, there's the likelyhood that you'll have to do a complete reinstall.

Naif.1
June 7th, 2009, 06:09 AM
Thanks Mark.

So far, I can get access to the username and password window.. but after I enter my user name and password I just get the brown background with nothing else(no desktop or menu-bar....).

When I try to press some keys on the keyboard I get the terminal window. How can I start the GNOME session and the desktop from the terminal?

Waiting,,,,, Thanks :)

Naif.1
June 7th, 2009, 08:42 PM
hey guys,

how would I recover my system? I really have no idea if there is a way to recover my system like I do in windows? I am wondering if there is a terminal command that would kill the GNOME and re run it?

My problem is (i think) with the GNOME and desktop since I can't see them after I enter my username and password!!

Any help would be appreciated...

:)

nothingspecial
June 7th, 2009, 08:50 PM