PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Question about Beryl

swish
June 6th, 2009, 11:56 PM
Hey all,
I am new to using linux.
I got Ubuntu and was wondering how to install the beryl manager.
If i google it, there are instructions on beryl for ubuntu fiesta, but there are no instructions for installing it on regular ubuntu. My version is 9.04.
To be specific I want the 3d cube desktop.

thanks for any help,

Swish

kayvortex
June 7th, 2009, 12:22 AM
You're a couple of years late! Beryl was merged back into Compiz and no longer exists. All those fancy graphics are now a part of Compiz Fusion. And, luckily, it's pre installed: just go to System -> Preferences -> Appearance, go to the Visual Effects tab and choose the Extra option.

Edit:
If you want the desktop cube, you'll also have to install the settings manager. Run this command in a terminal:

sudo aptitude install compizconfig-settings-manager
Then, in a terminal enter:

ccsm
In the program that opens up, go to the section headed Desktop and check the box Desktop Cube (and click on the Disable button if any warning box pops up).

Edit edit:
Let me know if anything makes no sense to you and I'll be more explicit on what to do.

swish
June 7th, 2009, 02:30 AM
Hey thanks for the reply.
I seem to be having a problem though; when I try to activate the effects, the
screen blinks, but it gives me a cannot apply effects error.
Maybe its a driver issue?
Here are my technical specs:

swish
June 7th, 2009, 02:40 AM
Hey thanks for the reply.
But I seem to be having some problems.
When I try to apply the effects, the screen flashes for a second,
but then it says effects could not be applied.
I think it maybe a driver issue.
I checked Hardware Drivers and there is only one driver listed there which is my wireless card.
If you need technical specs:
Dell Laptop
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4 Ghz
4 GB RAM
Intel onboard graphics card(tell me if you need the exact specification to help me out)