PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need Help Running Zune Software on Jaunty.

musicartlife7
June 6th, 2009, 09:52 PM
Hey guys.

My operating system on my Toshiba Satellite M305-S4815 is Ubuntu 9.04. I love and adore it so far. The only negative thing about it (and not even it, it's Zune's fault) is that I can't run my Zune software. I have spent hours researching this and have decided against VMWare, as I'm a broke college student.

Instead, I watched a tutorial on how to install another operating system with Virtualbox. I have successfully installed this. Unfortunately, I only have the Toshiba recovery disc. I don't have and OS disc. The recovery discs run Windows Vista, and if I can load this onto my computer, that would be wonderful. I love Jaunty, and to have Jaunty but be able to run Zune would be fantastic.

So here's what happens...

I have chosen Vista for the new system, and I press "start" in Virtualbox. It then loads windows fine. Then it gives me the option of Toshiba Recovery Wizard or another option of System Setup. I tried Toshiba Recovery, to no avail. It failed immediately. I restarted Virtualbox and chose the System Setup instead. It brought me to a new menu, and said to choose the OS I wanted to install. There were no options, so I chose "load drivers." This is where it got hairy. I have no clue on the discs where the drivers for Vista are. Not a clue.

If there is anyone that can help me with this problem, I would be eternally greatful. If there's an easier way, that would even be fantastic. My music collection is massive, and I would love to actually be able to listen to it. :)

Thanks everyone!

Mark Phelps
June 7th, 2009, 04:11 AM
The recovery disks are designed to completely restore your hard drive to the state it was in when first loaded. Even if it DID work within a virtual machine, when done, your entire drive would be wiped clean with the original installation back in place.

So, basically, you can't do what you want to do.