PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can not install Ubuntu 9.04

Mimir09
June 6th, 2009, 07:16 PM
Hi everyone, I am new to Ubuntu (or for that mater linux in general) and I am trying to install Ubuntu 9.04. When I try to either use the LiveCD or install it, I will get a loading screen and then after a bit I get the following:

Loading, please wait...
Linux ubuntu 2.6.28-11-generic #42-Ubuntu SMP Fri Apr 17 01:57:59 UTC 2009 i686

The programs included with the Ubuntu system are free software:
the exact distrubtion terms for each program are described in the individual files in /usr/share/doc/*/copyright.

Ubuntu comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by applicable law.

To access official Ubuntu documentation, please visit:
http://help.ubuntu.com/
To run a command as administrator (user "root"), use "sudo <command>".
See "man sudo_root" for details.

ubuntu@ubuntu:~$

I can not get to the desktop or installer. I have an off brand laptop that I am wanting to dual boot from. I have already tried the disk on my desktop and it worked flawlessly. I am guessing it has something to do with my graphics card.

If someone could explain what is happening and how to fix it or point me to a thread that already contains it I would appreciate it.

matamoscas
June 6th, 2009, 07:28 PM
I must say, I am no expert, so I hesitate to give any advice at all...but...here goes.

Yeah, I think it is a video problem. When I have booted to a command prompt in the past, it was because my xorg.conf was not properly configurated.

I don't think a video card would out-and-out NOT work, so I think it just needs to be configured.

Try something like X -configure at the command prompt, but that might only work ONCE it is installed.

Anyway, that is the best I can do...

Good luck.

merlinus
June 6th, 2009, 07:35 PM
You might try reburning the .iso at a slow (4x) or less speed. Also, do a checksum:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowToMD5SUM

And you also might post system specs.