PDA

View Full Version : Netbooks

ProbablyX
June 6th, 2009, 02:37 AM
Hi!

I was thinking of getting a netbook. I hear that they will release new models soon and it's a good time to get one cheap.

I'm not really good with specs etc when it comes to this kind of PC, so I was just going to check with those of you that have one, which model would be most useful for taking notes, checking the web and maybe watching TV series on (like some TV channels put their stuff up on the web or for download).

I guess Linux runs on them all (here in Sweden you cant get a notebook without Windows so pricing that way isn't compareable :() so it comes down to plain hardware anyway.

I've found three models that seem nice:

HP Compaq Mini 730
- Intel Atom N270 @ 1.6Ghz + GPU: Intel GMA950
- 1GB RAM (upgradeable to 2)
- 80GB hdd (SATA) @ 4200rpm
- Wireless 802.11b/g
- Bluetooth
- Weight: 1.02kg (2.25lbs)
Size: 26.17cm x 16.67cm x 2.52cm = 10.3" x 6.56" x 0.89"

HP 2133 Mini-Note
- VIA C7-M ULV @ 1.6GHz + GPU: VIA Chrome 9
- 2GB RAM
- 120GB hdd @ 5300rpm
- Wireless a/b/g
- Bluetooth + 1 ExpressCard/54
- Weight: 1.27kg (2.8lbs)

Asus EEE PC 1000H
- Intel Atom N270 + GPU: Intel 945GSE
- 1 GB RAM (upgradeable to 2)
- 160GB hdd
- Wireless b/g/n
- Bluetooth
- Wieght: 1450g (3.20lbs)
Size: 26.6 x 19.12 x 2.85 ~ 3.80 cm = 10.5" x 7.53" x 1.12" ~ 1.50"

-----

A key question is, that I hear the VIA processor isn't as good and that it might underperform (a reviewer said it lagged when watching YT) but is that changeable if I run a 64bit OS? (I heard the CPU was 64bit).

But the main Q is. The HPs are lighter than the ASUS (and the Intel one is the lightest and has a better graphics card), but except for that the ASUS has much more to offer.
Is it worth the extra specs to get the "better" PC or should I go with the HP as its smaller and lighter? The ASUS is also about $60 more.