PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Where is the REAL beginners forum?

Carolla
June 6th, 2009, 02:11 AM
I've just attempted to install Ubuntu 8.10 as a dual boot on my spare drive on my windows xp machine. I thought I'd done great, but now find it boots to the live user session I was running from my CD Drive and all my changes are lost.

I thought I'd read around a bit for tips for beginners here. I don't even understand what you all are talking about! It's all still jargon to me, I was hoping the Absolute Beginners would speak clearly annotated English. :)

All I want to do is to get Ubuntu to run off my hard drive on the dual boot, then figure out how to get CIV IV BTS to run so I can play multiplayer games with my buds. I can handle the other apps - possibly just switch over to Ubuntu apps.

HELP! I don't speak Linux!!!!

M4rotku
June 6th, 2009, 02:13 AM
I'm sorry if this is completely off-base, but did you remove the cd? I'm just wondering how it could still be running the live session. If the cd is still in, then it will boot the cd before the harddrive.

QIII
June 6th, 2009, 02:15 AM
The Live CD will allow you to make changes under certain conditions if you allow it to create space to do so.

But if you later did a full install (including repartitioning your drive), you likely lost all of that.

Are you able to boot properly to both XP and Ubuntu at least?

Cypher
June 6th, 2009, 02:15 AM
How did you do the installation? By booting the Live CD and then clicking the "install" icon on the desktop? Once the installation was finished, during the restarting process, Ubuntu should have kicked out the CD and asked you to hit "Return" to restart? If so, that's the correct way.

On the subsequent boot up, you shouldn't have put the CD in and should've seen the GRUB menu which should've listed not only Ubuntu but also your XP as a boot option?

If all of these are true, then you did the installation properly..

opethfan89
June 6th, 2009, 02:19 AM