PDA

View Full Version : does anyone in the world actually access phpmyadmin

kapi
June 5th, 2009, 08:42 PM
after four days, numerous threads and endless nights of trying to gain access to phpmyadmin I have come to the conclusion that from a users perspective . . . how can I put this as politely as possible IT SUCKS!

I have installed it six times, had numerous help from others telling me to make sure there is symlinks or make new users within mySQL or reset the password or even just reinstall and make sure certain include files exist in etc/int.d

well I've had it! Sorry this is my rant, I studied software development at uni and have come to the conclusion that it should work straight out of the box not take a ridiculous amount of time to set it up, I have wasted more time than I can afford

Dont use this rubbish, i'll just have to try something else

Celauran
June 5th, 2009, 08:47 PM
I use it every day from six different machines and have never had a single problem. Really haven't a clue why it's giving you such a hard time.

marshall.robert
June 5th, 2009, 08:50 PM
Did you download it from the website of from the Ubuntu repositories?

sudo apt-get install phpmyadmin

That ensures that it is correctly set up too. With the added advantage of updating automatically.

albinootje
June 5th, 2009, 08:52 PM
I have installed it six times, had numerous help from others telling me to make sure there is symlinks or make new users within mySQL or reset the password or even just reinstall and make sure certain include files exist in etc/int.d

What I usually do is the following :

1) Remove /var/www/phpmyadmin symlink
2) Create directory /var/www/phpmyadmin directory
3) Mount it when I need it, as following :

sudo mount --bind /usr/share/phpmyadmin /var/www/phpmyadmin

4) open the url with the php defined, e.g. :
http://localhost/phpmyadmin/index.php
5) After usage :

sudo umount /var/www/phpmyadmin