PDA

View Full Version : Best way to show off Gnome/Compiz bells & whistles?

Nixie Pixel
June 4th, 2009, 11:20 AM
Hello! I have been producing a series of Linux videos aimed at newbies, mostly featuring Ubuntu. I was asked to do them by a fellow from linuxhaxor.net to sort of introduce the idea that Linux isn't as hard as people make it out to be (I guess being female I somehow give this impression? :tongue:).

For my next video I would love to show off some of the great things that Compiz can do, and what people can do with their Ubuntu desktops. Only.. I'm a noob at making things pretty in Ubuntu and don't know where to start. Hell, it took me a long time just to figure out why I couldn't use Compiz Zoom :P.

So perhaps people can share with me the effects they like best, and perhaps the standard hotkeys for those effects? (and how to turn them on if they are off by default, using CCSM)

Also, I really don't know that much about themes and/or docks. Perhaps you can suggest some really eye-catching themes (hopefully their installation instructions are clear and easy to follow :)).

Thanks for all your help, I really would like to show off the best of what is a staggering number of options, and help people see just what Linux can do here.

Tibuda
June 4th, 2009, 12:06 PM
I probably changed my hotkeys, but these are the plugins I use:

Scale: See all windows in current workspace pressing Shift+Alt+Click.
Expo: see all workspaces pressing Super+Click
Window previews: see windows thumbnails when you hover the taskbar buttons
Wobbly windows: useless fun when moving windows
Zoom: zoom in or out when you roll the mouse wheel pressing Super
Tile: tiles the current workspace windows when I press Shift+Super+X (requires the compiz-fusion-plugins-unsupported (apt:compiz-fusion-plugins-unsupported) package).