PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual Boot Vista/Ubutnu Problems

dmanno
June 4th, 2009, 06:44 AM
Summary: Unable to install Grub. Lilo boots directly to Linux with no Vista boot option.

Hi all. I am new to Linux and have spent the last three afternoons trying to install Ubuntu 9.04. I have Vista 64 Home Premium installed on a Seagate 1.5tb hd and have repartitioned space to create a Linux root partition, /home partition and /swap partition.

I have installed the desktop Ubuntu 64 bit version about 5 times with a critical error every time when it gets to the part where it installs grub. I read that I could work around this using the alternate cd download and installing Lilo instead. This worked for me, however then I was unable to get back into Vista, probably due to all of my previous installation attempts and messing with installing Grub in multiple partitions to try to get something to work. When my computer started, it always went directly into Ubuntu with no boot selection screen.

Anyways, I was able to get Vista loading again after a few hours of Googling solutions and then installed EasyBCD. I was unable to get back into Linux after adding Lilo boot options in EasyBCD on all partitions. So I just re-installed Ubuntu again using the alternate cd and Lilo from the get-go in hopes that everything would magically work. Now I have my original problem which is that my computer boots straight into Ubuntu with no option to go to Vista.

I guess I need to know what to do next. Do I need to simply configure Lilo to add Vista as a boot option? Or am I missing something? As I said before, I'm a Linux n00b so please help with specific commands, if applicable!

Other info:
I have one hard drive, with:
Windows on partition dev/hda1
ubuntu root on dev/hda4
ubuntu /home on dev/hda2 and
swap on dev/hda5.

I think that's the proper notation, but I'm on the gf's computer now as I don't want to touch mine anymore due to frustration.

Thanks in advance for your help!

zman58