PDA

View Full Version : why are default GNOME themes nearly always so fugly...

nolliecrooked
June 3rd, 2009, 10:33 PM
....apart from Mint 7, all GNOME based distros look like crap.

monsterstack
June 3rd, 2009, 10:33 PM
ok.

Tipped OuT
June 3rd, 2009, 10:35 PM

I agree, but they make it easy on the graphics card for other people with older hardware.

nolliecrooked
June 3rd, 2009, 10:40 PM
I agree, but they make it easy on the graphics card for other people with older hardware.

lol no dude, a decent icon/GTK theme wouldnt be any more stressful on hardware than the ugly ones...

Tipped OuT
June 3rd, 2009, 10:44 PM
lol no dude, a decent icon/GTK theme wouldnt be any more stressful on hardware than the ugly ones...

Then you have a lot to learn. The Clearlooks theme engine (for example) is a lot less of a load on the graphics card. Also notice, it only has two main colors, a cream color and orange. Less colors, less load on the graphics also. I'm a graphic designer for the PSP's Cross Media Bar, I know these things.

People tend to forget that Ubuntu is also made for 3rd world countries (or poor areas) with people that can't afford to buy a new computer, and have the latest hardware.

OutOfReach
June 3rd, 2009, 10:47 PM
Fedora's themes are really good default themes, in my opinion.

Tipped OuT
June 3rd, 2009, 10:48 PM
Fedora's themes are really good default themes, in my opinion.

I like Mint's default theme. Very nice.

nolliecrooked
June 3rd, 2009, 10:49 PM
Then you have a lot to learn. The Clearlooks theme is engine (for example) is a lot less of a load on the graphics card. Also notice, it only has two main colors, a cream color and orange. Less colors, less load on the graphics also. I'm a graphic designer for the PSP's Cross Media Bar, I know these things.

lol, your a 15 year old kid, so excuse me if I dont believe you :P

and so all Clearlooks themes have to be ugly?

Murrine isnt much more stressful on hardware than Clearlooks.

bekind2thenoob