PDA

View Full Version : Redistribute linux

imalloch
June 3rd, 2009, 03:26 PM
Hi all
Im quite new to Linux been using ubuntu for a two years, I have a question about redistributing ubuntu with a few changes, my idea it to take ubuntu netbook remix change the look a bit and add a few apps, call it something else base round a soccer theme (football. outside the usa). My thinking is kids would like to have there favourate team colors on there desktop, they are a lot more experimental than adults.
Am I ok doing this in Linux/ubuntu ? Or do I have to compile Linux myself from scratch? Sorry I’m new to all this not to sure how the Linux community works.
:?

monsterstack
June 3rd, 2009, 03:48 PM
You can go right ahead and do that. Theming can be a bit tricky if you want to get into the nitty gritty tweaking, but totally possible. You don't have to use your own repositories, either. "Crunchbang Linux", for instance, is a version of Ubuntu that has been tweaked and modified to not only look different but behave differently. Still, its users benefit from being able to install the same Ubuntu software and get the same Ubuntu updates.

A great place to start is by installing Remastersys and Gnome Art Manager. The Art Manager is in the repositories, and follow the steps here (http://www.ubuntugeek.com/creating-custom-ubuntu-live-cd-with-remastersys.html) [ubuntugeek.com] to install remastersys.

Then, on a clean install, go right ahead and theme your computer, install the applications you want, remove the ones you hate, and fire up remastersys. It'll build you a custom live-cd with all your settings intact. The link I gave has a few examples of how to use remastersys, and I think there are Howtos on the forums somewhere. Once you've made your own custom Ubuntu flavour, you can go right ahead and burn as many discs as you want, and give them to all your friends.

imalloch
June 3rd, 2009, 04:04 PM
I Was thinking more of redistributing over the internet, Is this still ok?