PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Building New PC, wanna use Ubuntu

Codeyhoskins
June 2nd, 2009, 10:14 PM
The laptop I'm on right now is just a loaner, loaded with windows XP, virus', etc. I'm new to the whole of making PCs, so I got a friend helping me make it. Hes done it before, and the parts we ordered he said are compatible and that when I receive the last piece, the processor that it will be up and ready to put the OS system on. He has windows XP ready to install on it, but I've been directed to put Ubuntu on it. I've downloaded and burned the CD for it, checked to make sure it had all the files and not just the ISO, and even went ahead and downloaded and ordered the beginners guide. But, I'm not tech savvy outside of game systems. The issue I'm having, is my friend says that my hardware, motherboard, CPU, etc., will not support Ubuntu, saying Linux is way to hard to manage and use anyways and won't even play the games I was wanting to run, or the music I want to listen to.

What I want to do right now is limited to only chat, writing, music, and Spore. Very small list that I'm sure to expand later, but chat and writing would be easily solved. Remaining issues are hardware, Music, and Spore. I use iTunes, so would buying off the iTune store be an issue? Could I run iTunes and listen to the music off it? (My library is 3 years old, quit big, and don't want to lose it.) And second, would Ubuntu run Spore? Its my favorite little project computer wise.

Lastly, I'll list the CPU and motherboard, and gladly any other items needed to help me figure out for sure or not if the PC can use Ubuntu (Fingers crossed), and if I can shove this in my friends face, after its up and running with Ubuntu of course. =P.

Biostar G31D-M7 Intel G31 Socket 775 mATX Motherboard
Intel Pentium E2200 Allendale 2.2GHz 1MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor