PDA

View Full Version : Accidentally erased Windows

TheHimself
June 2nd, 2009, 04:05 AM
I just got an Ideapad s10 and wanted to install ubuntu on it but I accidentally erased everything on HDD including Windows and drivers. Fortunately no data was (there to be) lost. If the computer had an optical drive then I would install Windows again but without an optical drive I don't know how to do this.

This is my first time with Linux alone on a computer and sounds kind of scary!

I had an experience during installation which I don't know if it's the case for everybody: when I was installing Ubuntu from a usb drive, I had to connect the device immediately after turning on the computer not before. Otherwise it would be "disconnected".

Steelmourne
June 2nd, 2009, 04:20 AM
This might reinstall vista (why would you want to?): http://kurtsh.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!DA410C7F7E038D!1665.entry

As for the drive, it would depend on your BIOS settings and the boot order. Maybe you should try out Ubuntu for now. Look through help - its on the top panel with a blue question mark.

raymondh
June 2nd, 2009, 04:27 AM
I just got an Ideapad s10 and wanted to install ubuntu on it but I accidentally erased everything on HDD including Windows and drivers. Fortunately no data was (there to be) lost. If the computer had an optical drive then I would install Windows again but without an optical drive I don't know how to do this.

This is my first time with Linux alone on a computer and sounds kind of scary!

I had an experience during installation which I don't know if it's the case for everybody: when I was installing Ubuntu from a usb drive, I had to connect the device immediately after turning on the computer not before. Otherwise it would be "disconnected".

No need to be scared ... you have got a working OS right now. So, let's see about your goal of dual booting 'eh?

I am hoping that the restore partition is still there. Can you boot into ubuntu and in a terminal, type

sudo fdisk -l