PDA

View Full Version : Desperate for help with serious installation problem

Perspective
June 1st, 2009, 07:34 PM
Hello, as a total beginner with Ubuntu and Linux. I know a few essentials about Mac OS, but that's about it. A while ago I bought an Asus Eee 1000H, because I could not afford a MacBook. The operating system was Windows XP and I hated it a lot. Surfing the net I came across ubuntu and liked the look of it.
Yesterday I downloaded the netbook remix and installed it as a double boot, using a 4GB CompactFlash card from my camera. Everything seemed fine, I very much liked ubuntu and I deleted the os from the flash card, because I needed it for my camera again. This morning, ubuntu told me to download a lot of important updates, but the partition for it was too small to download and install. Because I had a partition programm in XP, I went back there and tried to make a larger partition for ubuntu. I went out for a bike ride and when I came back, there was this message on the screen:
GRUB Loading stage1.5.
GRUB loading, please wait...
Error 22
I tried to reboot into XP but that us not available as an option any longer.
Now I'm really stuck. Is there any way that I can deal with this without having to buy an external cd drive or even Windows XP? All I have available is a Mac, running Leopard 10.5.7. I have already tried to install ubuntu on to this, to then make another flash drive, but because my drive is partitioned, bootcamp can't do another windows partition.
Any help would be very, very much appreciated.
Thanks and best wishes!
PS. This was my stupidity, I know, and I have to say that I very much loved ubuntu, it was, while it was running an effortless and pleasant experience, free from all this patronising Windows stuff.

MichaelSammels
June 1st, 2009, 07:46 PM