PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu's what Linux was MEANT to be!

pbr
January 15th, 2006, 10:04 AM
Hi! I'm Paul... I've been working with UNIX and LInux for over 20 years.

I'm REALLY impressed with Ubuntu. It's best feature - it just plain WORKS.

There are still a few rough edges - things that people often need to do that require signifigant Linux admin experience - but a LOT of the pain has been eliminated. GREAT JOB!

2 tasks which will still trip up your average user are:
- adding swap files
- adding hard drives

Both of these have procedures that are complex enough to be daunting to the average user. Consider that under (ugh!) Windows, new drives are recognized and made available without users needing to edit files like /etc/fstab. Also consider that the virtual memory management on Windows is pretty much "automatic". While that might not be a valid goal for Linux, it sure would be nice to be able to say "use N gigabytes of this drive for swap" rather than having to (1)dd (2)mkswap (3)edit /etc/fstab (4)swapon or reboot

Beyond those complexities, Ubuntu's pretty much a "pain free linux" - Congratulations!

-Paul

BoyOfDestiny
January 15th, 2006, 10:47 AM
Hi! I'm Paul... I've been working with UNIX and LInux for over 20 years.

I'm REALLY impressed with Ubuntu. It's best feature - it just plain WORKS.

There are still a few rough edges - things that people often need to do that require signifigant Linux admin experience - but a LOT of the pain has been eliminated. GREAT JOB!

2 tasks which will still trip up your average user are:
- adding swap files
- adding hard drives