PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to install ubuntu 9.04 dual boot xp installed ? newbie

ubfu
June 1st, 2009, 06:52 AM
Sorry , I am new to ubuntu.
I had done a partition earlier last year and the partition is quite confusing too.:(

250GB Hard Disk space

Primary Partition (formated to)
C:Window XP ( currently using) [45GB]
E:Fat32 (Storing Data) [with data 20GB]
F:NTFS (Storing Data) [with data 60GB]

Extended Partition (Logical)
G: Storing Data)[with data 110GB]

I had made 3 primary partition and 1 local partition which I had fully used up all of the partition remaining.
Now I wanted to install ubuntu 9.04.I plan to choose and format to install it on E:Fat32 which is 20GB

I went to the installation of 9.04 but I was confuse using Advance partition ,

-Which one I should choose ? Ext4 , Ext3 ,Ext2 ,ReiserFS , JFS , XFS , Fat16 , Fat32 ?
-What is ext3 and 4 difference ? is ext4 will cause booting problem to my window xp ?
-About the swap partition , I choose to install ubuntu 9.04 into E: , there is no other partition left for Swap.Or the swap partition can create another partition inside E: ? (I had 2GB ram , how much I should use ? )
-What is mount Point ? got /boot , /Home , /tmp , /usr and others. ??

Please Guide me though it [-o< thank you very much.

rossmoore
June 1st, 2009, 07:01 AM
This could be a very long post, the options for partition layout are endless. I'll give a quick answer:

Let's start with your partition layout.
20Gb should be enough for Ubuntu - especially if you'll be having your data (Music, photos, etc) on one of the other partitions.
You should have at least as much space for swap as you have RAM - in theory you should have twice as much (4Gb for you).
People normally choose either ext3 or ext4 for their filesystem. Ext4 is the latest version of Ext3 and is quicker. I use Ext4, but many still use Ext3 - I only switched 2 months ago. The safe, default option is Ext3.