PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problems with installation (Partition)

AE000
June 1st, 2009, 02:53 AM
I'm having problems when installing Ubuntu 8.10 on a WD3200AAKS hd. I chose the guided partitioning with 100% of the hd for Ubuntu but after 5% I get an error saying that there was a problem creating the partition and it leaves me with only a 7.2Gb partition for ubuntu.

I'm new to this system and did not understand the options on the Manual partition.

Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Alex.

AE000
June 1st, 2009, 03:01 PM
After several tries the partitioning kept aborting at 5% which left me with 97% of my 320Gb hd as "free space" and 7% (7.2Gb) available to install Ubuntu so I installed it there and after the installation I upgraded to version 9.04.

I thought that I would be able to use the remaining 97% for my personal files but Ubuntu doesn't seems to "see" that part of the HD.

Any suggestions on what I can do to use this portion of my HD? Is it ok to keep ubuntu on 7.2Gb only?

My HD is a 320Gb Western Digital (WD3200AAKS).

Thanks!

Alex.

lake54
June 1st, 2009, 03:03 PM
Try going to System > Admin > Partition Editor, and create a partition in the unallocated space (best to use the ext3 format).

Ubuntu should then be able to see that space, but your /home/ directory won't be on it - you'll have to place files there manually.

James

PS - you can move your home dir there, but I'm not sure how you do it - try either on the wiki, or someone will reply back here soon!

raymondh
June 1st, 2009, 04:43 PM
Hello Aeooo,

If OK with you, kindly post back a screenshot of gparted as well as

sudo fdisk -l

(small L, not 1).

It'll help us get a better picture of what your HD looks like at the moment.

Thanks,

AE000
June 1st, 2009, 09:51 PM
Hello Aeooo,

If OK with you, kindly post back a screenshot of gparted as well as

sudo fdisk -l(small L, not 1).

It'll help us get a better picture of what your HD looks like at the moment.

Thanks,