PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] No Longer Able to Login Graphically

ToxicNostalgia
June 1st, 2009, 02:45 AM
[SOLVED]

For some reason, I can no longer login graphically on my computer, but I can perform a console login without a problem. Everything works just fine until I get to the login screen which prompts me for my username and password. I enter my credentials, and the screen goes temporarily black for a second then it returns me to the login screen. I really don't understand why this is occuring. I don't have the appropriate knowledge to even know where to search for the problem, and that is why I am here, to ask for help not only to diagnose but to fix whatever is causing this issue. As you can tell, I am not very experienced with Linux. I am running Kubuntu 9.04, and I think, KDE 4.2.2. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

WinterMadness
June 1st, 2009, 03:18 AM
go into the terminal and type dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

that should do it if my experience serves me correctly

ToxicNostalgia
June 1st, 2009, 03:50 AM
I went through the reconfiguration process, and it didn't solve my problem. Any other ideas?

SunnyRabbiera
June 1st, 2009, 04:10 AM
It might be kdm, I would try sudo apt-get install GDM with your console login, it should ask you if you want to use either KDM or GDM.
GDM is an alternate login manager, it has a GUI and I find it more reliable then KDM.
KDM is what Kubuntu uses by default but the KDE4 version of KDM isnt that great.

ToxicNostalgia
June 1st, 2009, 04:45 AM
I tried it, but I failed because I wasn't connected to the Internet. How do connect to the Internet via console? Or would another route be easier?

ToxicNostalgia
June 1st, 2009, 05:31 AM
This really sucks. Not being able to really use my computer is killing me, I was watching The Office season 3, and now, I am bored out of my mind. I know it's sad, but I'm sick, and there isn't much else to do. Consider this a bump. More help would be greatly appreciated.

SunnyRabbiera