PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem Re-installing Windows 7

Caesar Jaunty
May 30th, 2009, 10:28 PM
Hello fellow members.

I recently tested out Linux Ubuntu 9.04. After a length of time evaluating Ubuntu I've found out that I was not yet ready for it. I wanted to switch back to Windows 7. During the installation of Windows 7. On the part where it asks where to install. It says I cannot install on the HDD because it is not formatted in NTFS.

I wouldn't kno where to begin to get my HDD back to NTFS format.

I am also VERY new to Linux.

Please if somebody could help me get Windows 7 back on my system I would greatly appreciate it. TYVM

coffeecat
May 30th, 2009, 11:32 PM
The problem is that you have (probably) two partitions there, one formatted ext3 for the Ubuntu root partition and a smaller swap partition, and neither filesystem is recognised by the Windows installer - although I am surprised that it doesn't offer to reformat the ext3 one. Anyway, you can use the Ubuntu live CD to delete both partitions and create an NTFS one.

Boot up with your Ubuntu 9.04 live CD and go to System > Administration > Partition Editor. First you need to unmount the swap partition which the live CD will have mounted already. Highlight the swap partition and in the Partition menu, select swapoff. You may have to click 'Apply' - I can't remember. Now highlight each partition in turn and click on delete. Now click on 'Apply' and both will be deleted.

You will now see one line showing 'unallocated' for the whole drive. Highlight this, click on 'New' and in the dialogue window that opens, select 'primary' for partition type and 'NTFS' for filesystem. You can also select a partition label if you want. Click on 'Apply' and when that's finished you are done. Shut down, boot up from the Windows 7 disc and you should be OK from there on.