PDA

View Full Version : Where is the location of my localhost?

penguin-of-doom
May 30th, 2009, 05:52 PM
Hi,
today I have tried to go on my localhost. I went in my Browser and typed "localhost" and then there came a site with the message "It works". I find it funny, because I hadn't installed XAMPP yet. The only thing I had done is installed my System. I find it good, that I have a localhost on my PC, but how can I cange this HTML-File? Can somebody help me? Because It will be not so good if I install a second localhost on my PC when I would install XAMPP... II didn't find the file yet to change it, and I hope you can help me.

PS: Sorry for my bad english =) I'm not good at it, but I hope that you understand ma ask :D
PS2: I have installed Debian Lenny.

lykwydchykyn
May 30th, 2009, 05:56 PM
If you haven't configured anything, it'd going to be in /var/www. Sounds like something installed apache on your machine, maybe as a dependency (webmin used to do this).

You may not need XAMPP, unless you just prefer doing things that way.

You can run the following to see what's running on port 80:

sudo netstat -tunap|grep 80

penguin-of-doom
May 30th, 2009, 05:59 PM
thanks for this really quick help ^^
I know now, that it is Apache which is running!
Could it be that some other people can go on my localhost if I don't protect him? And then I have to pay the Data transfer? And how can I protect the localhost?

thanks for your really good help :D

mfg

albinootje
May 30th, 2009, 06:06 PM
Could it be that some other people can go on my localhost if I don't protect him?

Install firewall management software, see here : http://wiki.debian.org/Firewalls

Or, the easiest solution :
http://www.debian.org/doc/manuals/securing-debian-howto/ch-sec-services.en.html --> section 5.8 "Securing Apache".

lykwydchykyn
May 30th, 2009, 06:08 PM