PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need advice for planning my partitions

brncao
May 29th, 2009, 08:50 PM
Hi folks. I'm new to Linux. Ubuntu will be my first distro.

I wanted to dual boot Windows 7 RC and Ubuntu. I need some suggestions on what partitions I would need and how much space should each get. I have 200gb hdd (will add 160gb as well, which is 360gb total) and 2gb of RAM.

This is what I was thinking.

1. Windows 7
2. Ubuntu (ext3) /home - shared data
3. Ubuntu (ext3) /
4. Recovery and backups of #2 duplicated to another separate hdd partition
5. Swap

I don't know what's "primary" and "logical." From what I've read you can only have up to 4 primaries. I would like to have the /home directory accessed (read/write) by both OS. How would I do this? I would like to have Ubuntu write/read in NTFS in /home so it can be accessed by Windows.

To get an idea with what I do (so you can determine the right size for me), I work with DAW, music, and audio applications and usually have wads of plugins and vst's. I install a bunch of classic to modern games as well. These installations eat up the most space.

I download lots of music, videos, and downloaded programs (they go in the /home directory).

So what are your recommendations?

lake54
May 29th, 2009, 08:57 PM
I'm new to Linux as well, but essentially if you were going to use Windows and Ubuntu equally, I'd create 'equal' partitions (i.e. Windows 100 gig, Ubuntu 100 gig, which gets split down).

Alternatively, if I was going to use Linux more, 50 gig for Windows, and 150 for Linux, and vice versa.

I wouldn't worry too much about a few gigs here or there.

As a final suggestion, in relation to the home dir, you could have 50 for each OS (50 gigs for Windows, 50 for Linux) then keep your home directory as 100.

Hope that helped somewhat.

James

logos34
May 29th, 2009, 09:07 PM