PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] something goes wrong

mathijs175
May 29th, 2009, 08:24 AM
hello all.

first of all, im new to ubuntu and here, so plz expain everything in language i can understand(though i know a lot about hardware).

I have a problem with installing ubuntu 9.04 on a computer. downloaded the iso, checked the hash, put it on a disk etc. then say install it. I get trough all the steps and then on to the installation part. here starts the problems. somethimes it stops around 30% of the instalation(happened 3 times). then it gives an error that there might be a fault in the cd, Or the drive, Or de harddisk. result of this i made a new cd, and changed the drive(was broken, something rattled very bad at the end).

with the new drive i get around the 70% of installation(no errors anymore). but then it goes to ubuntu, i didnt have any message of restarting my computer or installation has finished etc(sitting right next to it). when i shut the computer down, and restart it, i cant get on ubuntu, and have to install it again.

im a doing something wrong? i hope you can help me.

mathijs175.

ps. sorry for my english, it isnt my first language.

Partyboi2
May 29th, 2009, 10:03 AM
Hi, try checking the cd for defects if you have not already, its one of the options at the main menu of the ubuntu cd.

mathijs175
May 29th, 2009, 10:13 AM
no errors found in scanning the cd.

i just changed the harddisk to a newer one, 20 gyg instead of 10 gyg, going to try now if he can install.

edit:
it didnt work, it stopped around 33% and the screen went black.

does someone else have an idea?

trwww
May 29th, 2009, 10:37 AM
with the new drive i get around the 70% of installation(no errors anymore). but then it goes to ubuntu... when i shut the computer down, and restart it, i cant get on ubuntu, and have to install it again.

Are you sure you are installing? This sounds to me like you are running the live cd version of ubuntu.