PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to remove Windows Partition after installation of 9.04

Zuato
May 27th, 2009, 08:18 PM
My question is this - my laptop is currently dual boot Windows and Ubuntu 9.04. I want to delete my Windows partition and acquire that space for my Ubuntu install. What do I use and how? I have gparted, but my concern is will my boot record be removed if I delete my Windows partition and rebuild it as ext4?

A second (semi-related) question is that I have an external fire wire drive that I used gparted on to partition into two segments - one NTFS and one ext4. I cannot do anything with the ext4 partition other than read it. How do I set permissions so that I can use the ext4 partition on my external?

Thank you all very much in advance for the help/advice - I'm still pretty new to Ubuntu/Linux and am ready to switch off Windows. :)

taurus
May 27th, 2009, 08:22 PM
1. It depends where that ntfs partition is located. You can use gparted from either Ubuntu LiveCD or GParted LiveCD (can't use gparted on your system since you cannot use it to resize the partition that you are using) to delete the ntfs partition and expand your root filesystem.

2. If you want to be able to write to the ext4 partition, you need to change the ownership of the mount point (not the device) for that partition from root to your login name with the chown command.

sudo chown -R username:username /mount_point_for_that_partition

Zuato
May 27th, 2009, 09:10 PM
Thank you for the info - it sounds like it might be just as easy for me to do a fresh install of Ubuntu 9.04 and modify the partitions that way - I already have a backup of all the data I need off the Windows partition.

I ran that command and I am still unable to do anything with the partition. The way I read that command is the username:username would be username that has permissions now on the left of the colon and to the right should be my username, correct?