PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] no gui ubuntu 9.04

badtazz72
May 27th, 2009, 01:50 PM
i installed ubuntu 9.04 and it worked well and then i whent to advanced desk top effects it downloaded driver i rebooted and all i have now is a .no resume image,doing normal boot.
i searched google for a fix and im starting to get discouraged.
i have nvidia 8600 gt and a 3.16 gb intell dual core.

overdrank
May 27th, 2009, 02:54 PM
i installed ubuntu 9.04 and it worked well and then i whent to advanced desk top effects it downloaded driver i rebooted and all i have now is a .no resume image,doing normal boot.
i searched google for a fix and im starting to get discouraged.
i have nvidia 8600 gt and a 3.16 gb intell dual core.

Hi and welcome, have you tried to boot into recovery mode and use xfix to correct the graphical issues?
Recovery mode is usually the second choice from the grub when booting.
Move to Absolute Beginner Talk

badtazz72
May 27th, 2009, 06:30 PM
Hi and welcome, have you tried to boot into recovery mode and use xfix to correct the graphical issues?
Recovery mode is usually the second choice from the grub when booting.
Move to Absolute Beginner Talk

yes and still no fix

Paul41
May 27th, 2009, 06:34 PM
Try running the following from the command line and then answer the questions it takes you through to see if it fixes it (if you are unsure of the answer you can usually pick the default).

sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

badtazz72
May 27th, 2009, 06:46 PM
Try running the following from the command line and then answer the questions it takes you through to see if it fixes it (if you are unsure of the answer you can usually pick the default).

sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

im reinstalling right now is there any thing special i should do before i let it put driver in?
:(

Paul41
May 27th, 2009, 06:47 PM
No, it should take care of everything for you.

badtazz72
May 27th, 2009, 06:50 PM
No, it should take care of everything for you.