PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cairo Dock 2

Kysweetheart
May 26th, 2009, 06:14 PM
I have just installed Cairo Dock 2. I can't get it to open the dock. When I click on Cairo Dock under System tools it pops up the configurations manager. When I put my preferences in and try to close out of the manager it will not shut down and keeps popping up and the dock still does not come up. I have to force quit the manager to make it close. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am a newbie when it comes to Ubuntu. Thanks in advance.

Misty

Idefix82
May 26th, 2009, 06:22 PM
I have this same behaviour whenever I am not connected to the internet. I suspect that if there are any applets on the dock that need an internet connection (like weather forecast) the dock will not come up if it can't get the data it needs. But I am sure that fabounet will soon join this thread and lift all our doubts :)

j0hn00
May 26th, 2009, 07:07 PM
this has been happening to me as well. i just switched to awn instead.

xXeHPiCXx
May 27th, 2009, 03:08 AM
Have you tried xkill? alt+f2 and type xkill and there should be an x click on the window your having trouble closing.You can also go in system monitor and look in the processes for cairo dock and close it.hope that helps.

Kysweetheart
May 27th, 2009, 04:21 AM
I have trimmed down the problems with Cairo Dock. I reverted back and installed Cairo Dock 1.6 and I am trying to upgrade instead of doing a fresh install. I keep getting an error message when I try to upgrade. The error message is as follows:

E: /var/cache/apt/archives/cairo-dock_2.0.2_all.deb: trying to overwrite `/usr/share/cairo-dock/icon-mouse.png', which is also in package cairo-dock-data.

Thanks for the previous respond. Any help with this would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Viva
May 27th, 2009, 05:46 AM
Open it using the terminal to find out the error.

fabounet
May 27th, 2009, 10:40 AM